13th Jul 2016

NAIDOC Week celebrations are held across Australia each July to celebrate the history, culture and achievements of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Take a few minutes to listen to Professor Chris Sarra (QLD) – Person of the Year...a remarkable Australian.

2016 Winners list:

Congratulations to: Manymak Energy Efficiency Project (NT) – Caring for
Country Award winner.

, Elijah Douglas (QLD) – Youth of the Year.

 GeoffreyGurrumul Yunupingu (NT) – Artist of the Year.

 Layneisha Sgro (WA) – Scholar of the Year

 Montana Ah-Won (WA) – Apprentice of the Year,

 Jade North (NSW) – Sportsperson of the Year,

 Professor MaryAnn Bin-Sallik (NT) – Female Elder of the Year,

 Dr Robert Francis Isaacs (WA) – Male Elder of the Year,

 Professor Chris Sarra (QLD) – Person of the Year,

Stephen Page (QLD) – Lifetime Achievement Award winner.