Lions NAB Cup Round 2 team named for Alice Springs

1st Mar 2012

The Brisbane Lions have named their unplaced list of 29 players for this weekend’s Round 2 NAB Cup clash against Adelaide in Alice Springs. The Lions will field a side which includes the likes of Matthew Leuenberger, Tom Rockliff, Jack Redden and Todd Banfield as they continue their build-up to the AFL premiership season opener on March 31.

Ruckman Billy Longer will also make the trip to Alice Springs after impressing in his debut hit out last week, alongside fellow top performers Claye Beams, Ryan Lester and Ash McGrath. With skipper Jonathan Brown absent from the side this week, there will be no shortage of players looking to step up in his absence, with young forwards Bryce Retzlaff, Aaron Cornelius and Jordan Lisle all named.

2. Ryan Harwood
3. Sam Sheldon
4. Jared Polec
5. Billy Longer
6. Joshua Green
8. Bryce Retzlaff
9. Ash McGrath
12. James Hawksley
17. Claye Beams
18. Todd Banfield
19. Jordan Lisle
23. Matthew Leuenberger
25. Richard Newell (Rookie)
26. Elliot Yeo
30. Jack Redden
31. James Polkinghorne
32. Cheynee Stiller
33. Amon Buchanan
34. Jesse O’Brien
35. Ryan Lester
36. Matt Maguire
37. Patrick Wearden
38. Tom Rockliff
40. Niall McKeever
41. Mitchell Golby
43. Rohan Bewick
44. Aaron Cornelius
45. Brad Harvey (Rookie)
47. Jack Crisp (Rookie)