2011 Imparja Cup – Day 3: NSW through to final

11th Feb 2011

New South Wales reaffirmed its Imparja Cup credentials by emerging from Day 3 undefeated to secure a spot in the 2011 Imparja Cup final.

Day 3 began with three teams undefeated and promised to be the day that shaped the make-up of Saturday’s final, and two-time champion NSW put in two accomplished displays to remain as the only unbeaten side of the competition.

NSW demolished the previously unbeaten WA side by eight wickets in the morning and then, having sent Queensland into bat, chased down the total of 171 with five balls to spare to maintain their perfect record.

The Queensland v WA match at 2.00pm at Traeger Park tomorrow now becomes a virtual elimination final, with the winner set to progress to the final to meet NSW.

The male and female Northern Territory sides each notched wins to please local fans and Victoria recorded back-to-back wins on the day to make it three consecutive wins in 2011.

Day 3 proved profitable for the bowlers. WA’s Julien Feehan took 4 for 2 in his side’s win against Tasmania, Willy Searle of SA took 4 for 13 against NT and NT’s Adrian McAdam channelled his hitherto batting form into figures of 4 for 13 against ACT.

NSW’s John Duckett led the batsmen on Day 3 with 77 in NSW’s massive run chase against Queensland. Duckett was ably supported by NSW captain Jeff Cook (63).

The 2011 Imparja Cup is being supported by the Australian government’s Learn Earn Legend! initiative which encourages young Indigenous Australians to stay at school and gain employment.

For full match details and tournament information, visit:http://www.cricket.com.au/imparjacup2011