‘Sorry means you won’t do it again’ - Alice Springs Remembers: Apology Day 2018

13th Feb 2018

The 13th of February 2018 marks the ten-year anniversary of the National Apology, delivered by Prime Minister Kevin Rudd to members of the Stolen Generation.  In that apology, Rudd declared that “the injustices of the past must never, never happen again”.

Yet, many first nations people argue things are worse today than since the apology. 

Aboriginal families and supporters from Alice Springs/Mpartnwe have used the anniversary to not only remember those who were stolen, but to participate in a National Day of Action to protest the children who are still being taken away.

The Alice Springs organisation IRAG – the Intervention Roll Back Action Group – hosted an event on the Flynn Church lawns in Alice Springs this morning to share support, stories and remember those who were taken.

Arrente grandmother Sylvia Purrurle Neale shared her story of both parents taken away and stressed the importance of acknowledging the alarming number of Aboriginal children who are not living with their families today.

Other speakers who shared their stories at the event included traditional owners of Alice Springs/Mpartnwe Margaret Furber, Doreen Carrol and Elaine Kngwarraye Peckham.

The Uniting Church Minister Steve Bevis held a minutes silence and acknowledged the pain endured by the stolen generation, and young Eastern Arrente woman Vanessa Farrelly told a story of re-finding her family roots and connections after her Great-grandmother was taken.

CAAMA's Teghan Hughes attended and captured the speeches from the event … The first speaker you will hear is Arrente Grandmother Sylvia Purrurle Neale….


00:00 - Sylvia Purrurle Neale - Mpartnwe Traditional Owner - both parents taken

06:43 - Doreen McCormack

10:54 - Margret Furber - Mpartnwe Traditional Owner - taken as an 8year old

17:05 - Vanessa Farelly - Arrente woman re-connecting with her family after her great-grandmother was taken

20:09 - Elaine Kngwarraye Peckham - Mpartnwe Traditional Owner

20:53 - Steve Bevis - Uniting Church Minister

26:06 - Sylvia Purrurle Neale - Mpartnwe Traditional Owner